Rutherford County Schools

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Voluntary Pre-K Program




 Visit the School Sites to Apply

2017-18 enrollment will begin May 8-12, 2017


Application/Pre-registration does not guarantee entrance into the program.


The Voluntary Pre-K program serves children who turn four years old on or before August 15. There are no exceptions. First priority is given to children whose families are in financial need.  Students may also be accepted if they meet any of the following risk factors:

  • those who are in English as a second language family,
  • those children who are in state custody, or
  • children who meet an at risk factor determined by the LEA (local education agency and the CPAC (Community Parent Advisory Committee) for the Rutherford County Pre-K Program.


Current classes exist at Lavergne Primary, Smyrna Elementary, Smyrna Primary, Cedar Grove Elementary, Walter Hill Elementary, Eagleville School, John Colemon Elementary, Kittrell Elementary, Rock Springs Elementary, and Stewartsboro Elementary. There are a total of 13 classes with each class serving 20 students. The programs operate five days a week on the regular school calendar, but the student day is only 6 hours. Each class has one certified teacher and one full time educational assistant. The Pre-K program must meet all Rutherford County requirements as well as the Voluntary Pre-K requirements and Tennessee Day Care Licensing Guidelines.


In order to enroll your child, you must go to the school site and show the child’s certified birth certificate, proof of income, and proof of residency in Rutherford County such as a utility bill (water, electric, etc.) Cell phone/cable bills are not accepted.


Call the schools or check our website in March for specific hours.


School sites:

LaVergne Primary                            615-904-6735

Rock Springs Elementary                615-904-3820

Cedar Grove Elementary                 615-904-3777

John Colemon Elementary               615-904-6740

Kittrell Elementary                           615-893-7604

Smyrna Elementary                          615-904-6725

Smyrna Primary                               615-904-6720

Stewartsboro Elementary                615-904-6705

Eagleville Elementary                       615-904-6710

Walter Hill                                         615-893-8046 

For more information contact: Linda Prichard or Peggy Sartain at 615-893-5812.