Rutherford County Schools

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

Next Town Hall meeting for parents set for Smyrna cluster on Oct. 22

September 24, 2018

Rutherford County Schools

Director of Schools Bill Spurlock will host the next Town Hall meeting for parents on Oct. 22 beginning at 5:30 p.m. at Smyrna High School.

The meeting is intended for those parents with children in Smyrna High School, Smyrna Middle School, Smyrna Elementary School, Smyrna Primary School, John Colemon Elementary School, Thurman Francis Arts Academy, Stewartsboro Elementary School or Smyrna West Alternative School.

Director Spurlock will address several topics about education initiatives and needs in Rutherford County and gather feedback from parents. He is planning similar meetings for all school clusters this year.  

The full list of meetings and locations is included below. Note that we have identified the month of the meetings for the second semester but we have not scheduled the specific date yet. Those specifics will be released later this semester.

Town Hall Meeting Schedule 

STEWARTS CREEK CLUSTER (5 schools) – Aug. 27, 2018 (5:30 p.m., SCHS auditorium)

  • Stewarts Creek High School
  • Stewarts Creek Middle School
  • Stewarts Creek Elementary School
  • Rocky Fork Middle School
  • David Youree Elementary School


LAVERGNE CLUSTER (8 schools) – Sept. 17, 2018 (5:30, LMS auditorium)

  • LaVergne High School
  • LaVergne Middle School
  • Rock Springs Middle School
  • LaVergne Primary School
  • Roy Waldron Elementary School
  • LaVergne Lake Elementary School
  • Rock Springs Elementary School
  • Cedar Grove Elementary School


SMYRNA CLUSTER (8 schools) – Oct. 22, 2018 (5:30 p.m., SHS gym)

  • Smyrna High School
  • Smyrna Middle School
  • Smyrna Elementary School
  • Smyrna Primary School
  • John Colemon Elementary School
  • Thurman Francis Arts Academy*
  • Stewartsboro Elementary School
  • Smyrna West Alternative School*


BLACKMAN CLUSTER (4 schools) — Nov. 12, 2018 (5:30, BHS auditorium)

  • Blackman High School
  • Blackman Middle School
  • Blackman Elementary School
  • Brown’s Chapel Elementary School


SIEGEL CLUSTER (4 schools) – Dec. 10, 5:30 p.m. (5:30, SGHS Auditorium)

  • Siegel High School
  • Siegel Middle School
  • Walter Hill Elementary School
  • Wilson Elementary School


RIVERDALE CLUSTER (6 schools) – Jan. 2019

  • Riverdale High School
  • Barfield Elementary School
  • Christiana Elementary School
  • Christiana Middle School
  • Buchanan Elementary School
  • Whitworth-Buchanan Middle School


OAKLAND CLUSTER (4 schools) – Feb. 2019

  • Oakland High School
  • Oakland Middle School
  • Kittrell Elementary School
  • Lascassas Elementary School


CHOICE SCHOOLS CLUSTER (5 schools) – March 2019

  • Central Magnet School*
  • Holloway High School*
  • Homer Pittard Campus School*
  • McFadden School of Excellence*
  • Daniel-McKee Alternative School*


ROCKVALE CLUSTER (4 schools) – May 2019

  • Rockvale High School
  • Rockvale Middle School
  • Rockvale Elementary School
  • Eagleville School


* Non-zoned, magnet or alternative school