Rutherford County Schools

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

RCS high schools recognized with ‘Gold Level’ for athletic safety standards

September 13, 2018


Rutherford County Schools


Rutherford County high schools have been awarded Gold Level recognition as Tennessee Safe Stars leagues.


Safe Stars is a new effort to recognize Tennessee youth sports leagues with high standards of safety for athletes. The Safe Stars criteria has been developed by a committee of health professionals dedicated to reducing sports-related injuries among youth. Safe Stars offers guidance to youth sports leagues to help them create programs that allow young people to enjoy the benefits of playing sports while staying safe and healthy.


This summer, Safe Stars expanded its scope to recognize schools for their outstanding safety policies and Rutherford County Schools are the first educational institutions to receive recognition from the program.


Safe Stars offers three levels of recognition: gold, silver and bronze, and involves implementing policies around topics including concussion education, weather safety and injury prevention.


Safe Stars is a collaboration between the Tennessee Department of Health and the program for injury prevention in youth sports at Monroe Carell Jr. Children's Hospital at Vanderbilt, and is the first youth sports safety rating system in the United States.