School Psychologists

School psychologists are highly trained in both psychology and education to make connections between student learning and teaching through assessment of academics, cognitive skills, behavior, and data analysis.

In Rutherford County, school psychologists meet with teachers, families, and other school professionals to improve student achievement, collaborate with teachers to effectively use data to individualize instruction, and actively participate in the RTI2 data team and Student Assistance Team meetings. School psychologists conduct individualized assessments with students suspected of having an educational disability and make academic and learning recommendations. These disabilities may include: specific learning disabilities, intellectual disabilities, intellectual giftedness, autism, developmental delays, functional delays, health impairments, traumatic brain injuries, and emotional disturbance.

In addition to individualized assessments, school psychologists may have additional training in the areas of mental health, behavior interventions, counseling, crisis preparedness and response, research, and program evaluation.

Misty Brooks -- Lead psychologist
(615) 893-5815 ext. 22051
[email protected]




Barfield Elem. Deanna Rowlett [email protected]
Blackman Elem. Vernae Coffee [email protected]
Blackman High Julia Nelson [email protected]
Blackman Middle Teri Blake  [email protected]
Brown's Chapel John Davis [email protected]
Buchanan Elem. Jennifer Miller [email protected]
Cedar Grove Julie Ferguson [email protected]
Central Magnet Avalyn Bauer [email protected]
Christiana Elem. Julia Nelson [email protected]
Christiana Middle Kathryn Pursell [email protected]
Daniel McKee School of Zone  
David Youree Elem. Josh Couts [email protected]
Eagleville Jennifer Miller [email protected]
Genesis Academy Crystal Shields [email protected]
Holloway High  Lauren Goss [email protected]
Homar Pittard Elem. Lauren Goss [email protected]
John Coleman Elem. Matt Taylor [email protected]
Juvenille Detention Ctr. School of Zone  
Kittrell Elem. Karen Bishop [email protected]
Lascassas Elem. Alane Micalizzi [email protected]
LaVergne High Crystal Shields [email protected]
Lavergne Lake Elem. Brittany Auerbach [email protected]
Lavergne Middle Rachel Wrye [email protected]
McFadden  Avalyn Bauer [email protected]
Oakland High Karen Bishop [email protected]
Oakland Middle Alane Micalizzi [email protected]
Plainview Elem. Deanna Rowlett [email protected]
Pre-School Assessment   John Davis [email protected]
Pre-School Assessment (Spanish) Joelle Doss [email protected]
Project Search School of Zone  
RCS Virtual School School of Zone  
Riverdale High  Vernae Coffee [email protected]
Rock Springs Elem. Natalie Sloat [email protected]
Rock Springs Middle Marci Hankins [email protected]
Rockvale Elem. Teri Blake [email protected]
Rockvale High Will Sullivan [email protected]
Rockvale Middle Jennifer Miller [email protected]
Rocky Fork Elem. Joelle Doss [email protected]
Rocky Fork Middle Crystal Shields [email protected]
Roy Waldron Elem. Julie Ferguson [email protected]
Rutherford Academy Will Sullivan [email protected]
Siegel High  Avalyn Bauer [email protected]
Siegel Middle Kerri Harrison [email protected]
Smyrna Elem. Brittany Auerbach [email protected]
Smyrna High School Lauren Goss [email protected]
Smyrna Middle Rachel Wrye [email protected]
Smyrna Primary Melanie Spicer [email protected]
Smyrna West School of Zone  
Stewarts Creek Elem. Melanie Spicer [email protected]
Stewarts Creek High Matt Taylor [email protected]
Stewarts Creek Middle Natalie Sloat [email protected]
Stewartsboro Elem. Marci Hankins [email protected]
Thurman Francis Avalyn Bauer [email protected]
Transition Academy School of Zone  
Walter Hill Elem. Josh Couts [email protected]
Whitworth Buchanan Middle Kathryn Pursell [email protected]
Wilson Elem. Kerri Harrison [email protected]


Links of interest:

National Association of School Psychologists:

Tennessee Association of School Psychologists: