Rutherford County Schools

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

About Health Services

Follow Health Services on Twitter @Health_RCS for important health tips and news. 

The Department of Health Services is under the direction of Sarah Winters, MSN, RN. All full-time school nurses are either BSN or MSN-prepared and several are nationally certified school nurses (NCSN).

School nurses are responsible for gathering health information for each student in the school system and identifying students' health needs at school. The school nurse communicates with parents regarding the health information received and develops an Individualized Health Care Plan (IHP) for the student based on parent input, orders received from health care providers, and knowledge of the disease process.

The school nurse's primary objective is to improve the health of all students, thereby improving their ability to succeed. The nurses see sick and injured children in the schools and provide health-related services to students with chronic health needs. These services may include diabetic care, gastrostomy tube feedings, urinary catheterizations, and tracheostomy care, among other types of nursing care.

The school nurses train First Responder Team members in First Aid and Heartsaver CPR, which includes defibrillator (AED) training, and they monitor the AED(s) in each of their assigned school(s). They train and monitor the medication administrators in their schools and are the resource persons for annual bloodborne pathogen training. The school nurses also perform scoliosis screenings for sixth graders in the school system in an effort to catch potentially debilitating spinal changes as early as possible. 

See below for a list of RCS school nurses and their contact information.

School Nurse Extension E-mail
Barfield Elementary Jessica Floyd 22521 floydj@rcschools.net
Blackman Elementary Mallory Blankenship 28706 blankenshipm@rcschools.net
Blackman High Amanda Durrett 22912 durretta@rcschools.net
Blackman Middle Kristi Hay 29134 hayk@rcschools.net
Brown's Chapel Elementary Terri Pigg 30909 piggte@rcschools.net
Buchanan Elementary Holly Smith 25310 smithh@rcschools.net
Campus School Zarita Melton 26313 meltonz@rcschools.net
Cedar Grove Elementary Shellie Dallas 22311 dallass@rcschools.net
Central Magnet Paige Anderson 23321 andersonpa@rcschools.net
Christiana Elementary Andrea Cain 25108 caina@rcschools.net
Christiana Middle Christi Reger 29720
Daniel McKee Lisa Hollifield 25500 hollifieldl@rcschools.net
David Youree Elementary Tonya Conde 25716 condet@rcschools.net
Eagleville Tammy Carroll 25913 carrollt@rcschools.net
Holloway High  Lisa Hollifield 26121 hollifieldl@rcschools.net
John Coleman Elementary Jonna McCracken 26503 mccrackenj@rcschools.net
Kittrell Elementary Sara Bailey 26711 baileys@rcschools.net
Lascassas Elementary Brittney Frost 26908 frostb@rcschools.net
LaVergne High   24173 @rcschools.net
LaVergne Lake Elementary Angie Dorris 30509 dorrisa@rcschools.net
LaVergne Middle   29935 @rcschools.net 
LaVergne Primary Allison Wadham 24504 wadhama@rcschools.net
McFadden Elementary Shelly Tilton 24905 tiltons@rcschools.net 
Oakland High Becky Fuqua 23941 fuquar@rcschools.net
Oakland Middle Jennifer Allen 31112 allenje@rcschools.net 
Riverdale High Juanita Bortnick 23553 bortnickj@rcschools.net
Rock Springs Elementary Debbie Shinkle 23120 shinkled@rcschools.net
Rock Springs Middle Sandra Morton 29335 mortons@rcschools.net
Rocky Fork Elementary Amy Butler   smitham@rcschools.net
Rocky Fork Middle Angie Tabb 31908 tabba@rcschools.net
Rockvale Elementary Angie Gillespie 27113 gillespiea@rcschools.net
Rockvale High Caitlyn Rowe   rowec@rcschools.net
Rockvale Middle Jamie Williams 30708 williamsjam@rcschools.net
Roy Waldron Sadie Land 24307
Siegel High Lisa Nielsen 25919 nielsenl@rcschools.net
Siegel Middle Lisa Robert 28512 robertl@rcschools.net
Smyrna Elementary Sperri Arviso 27505 arvisos@rcschools.net 
Smyrna High Tracy Sissom 23716 sissomt@rcschools.net
Smyrna Middle Lesa Randolph 24706 randolphl@rcschools.net
Smyrna Primary Amy Robinson 27710 robinsona@rcschools.net
Smyrna West Zarita Melton 27907 meltonz@rcschools.net 
Stewarts Creek Elementary Meg Relford 30308 relfordm@rcschools.net
Stewarts Creek High Erin Melton 31518 meltone@rcschools.net
Stewarts Creek Middle Sarah Hanback 30108 hanbacks@rcschools.net
Stewartsboro Elementary Brittany Sargent/Amy Vogel 27315 sargentb@rcschools.net / vogela@rcschools.net 
Thurman Francis Penny Tidwell 28111 tidwellp@rcschools.net
Walter Hill Elementary Elizabeth Hazlett 28305 hazlette@rcschools.net
Whit-Buch Middle Melanie Newhall 31312 newhallm@rcschools.net
Wilson Elementary Sherrie Rahn 28907 rahns@rcschools.net 
Clinical Charge Nurse Shanna Groom 615-605-0842 grooms@rcschools.net 
Clinical Charge Nurse Marjorie Hogan 615-295-4424 hoganm@rcschools.net
Clinical Charge Nurse Connie Walker 615-295-4442 walkerco@rcschools.net
Health Services Supervisor Sarah Winters 22077 WintersSa@rcschools.net 
Education Charge Nurse Barb Herrell 22085 herrellb@rcschools.net
float nurse (1/2 time) Lynn Bridges   bridgesl@rcschools.net
float nurse (1/2 time) Kim Potts   pottsk@rcschools.net
float nurse (1/2 time)
Kitty McClellan   mcclellank@rcschools,net
float nurse (1/2 time) Kala Kendrick  
PRN Amy Wheeler  
wheelera@rcschools.met
PRN Andrea Hutton  
PRN Anndrea Chrisman  
chrismana@rcschools.net
PRN Chassidy Allen   allench@rcschools.net 
PRN Denise Colson   colsond@rcschools.net 
PRN Jami Hage   hagej@rcschools.net
PRN LPN Jennifer Hayes   hayesj@rcschools.net
PRN Jessica Wright  
PRN Kari Mullican   mullicank@rcschools.net
PRN Lisa Williams   williamsli@rcschools.net
Float LPN Melissa Flagg   flaggm@rcschools.net 
PRN Melissa Palicka   palickam@rcschools.net
PRN Rachel Bullard   bullardr@rcschools.net
PRN Tracey Culbreath   culbreatht@rcschools.net
PRN Vickie Hughes   hughesv@rcschools.net