Rutherford County Schools

Skip to main content
Main Menu Toggle

About Health Services

The Department of Health Services is under the direction of Sarah Winters MSN, RN. All full-time school nurses are either BSN or MSN-prepared and several are nationally certified school nurses (NCSN).

School nurses are responsible for gathering health information on each student in the school system and identifying students' health needs at school. The school nurse communicates with parents regarding the health information received and develops an Individualized Health Care Plan (IHP) for the student based on parent input, orders received from health care providers, and knowledge of the disease process.

The school nurse's primary objective is to improve the health and academic success of all students. The nurses see sick and injured children in the schools and provide health-related services to students with chronic health needs. These services may include diabetic care, gastrostomy tube feedings, urinary catheterizations, and tracheostomy care.

The school nurses train First Responder Team members in First Aid and Heartsaver CPR, which includes defibrillator (AED) training, and monitor the AED(s) in each of their assigned school(s). They train and monitor the medication administrators in their schools and are the resource persons for annual bloodborne pathogen training. The school nurses also perform scoliosis screenings for sixth graders in the school system in an effort to catch potentially debilitating spinal changes as early as possible. 

See below for a list of RCS school nurses and their contact information.

School Nurse Extension E-mail
Barfield Elementary Jessica Floyd 22521 floydj@rcschools.net
Blackman Elementary Shelly Tilton 28706 tiltons@rcschools.net
Blackman High Holly Smith 22912 smithh@rcschools.net 
Blackman Middle Christi Reger 29134 regerc@rcschools.net
Brown's Chapel Elementary Sandra Untch 30909 untchs@rcschools.net
Buchanan Elementary Andrea Hutton 25310 huttona@rcschools.net
Campus School Blair Akers 26313 akersb@rcschools.net
Cedar Grove Elementary Shellie Dallas 22311 dallass@rcschools.net
Central Magnet Paige Anderson 23321 andersonpa@rcschools.net
Christiana Elementary Andrea Cain 25108 caina@rcschools.net
Christiana Middle Caitlyn Rowe 29720
Daniel McKee Elizabeth Hazlett 25500 hazlette@rcschools.net
David Youree Elementary Tonya Conde 25716 condet@rcschools.net
Eagleville Tammy Carroll 25913 carrollt@rcschools.net
Holloway High  Fredia Poff 26121 pofff@rcschools.net
John Coleman Elementary Jonna McCracken 26503 mccrackenj@rcschools.net
Kittrell Elementary Fredia Poff 26711 pofff@rcschools.net 
Lascassas Elementary Brittney Frost 26908 frostb@rcschools.net
LaVergne High Zarita Melton 24173 meltonz@rcschools.net
LaVergne Lake Elementary Angie Dorris 30509 dorrisa@rcschools.net
LaVergne Middle Angie Tabb 29935 tabba@rcschools.net
LaVergne Primary Allison Wadham 24504 wadhama@rcschools.net
McFadden Elementary Blair Akers 24905 akersb@rcschools.net
Oakland High Becky Fuqua 23941 fuquar@rcschools.net
Oakland Middle Janet Thornton 31112
Riverdale High Juanita Bortnick 23553 bortnickj@rcschools.net
Rock Springs Elementary Debbie Shinkle 23120 shinkled@rcschools.net
Rock Springs Middle Sandra Morton 29335 mortons@rcschools.net
Rockvale Elementary Angie Gillespie 27113 gillespiea@rcschools.net
Rockvale Middle Jamie Williams 30708 williamsjam@rcschools.net
Roy Waldron Sadie Land 24307
Siegel High Lisa Nielsen 25919 nielsenl@rcschools.net
Siegel Middle Lisa Robert 28512 robertl@rcschools.net
Smyrna Elementary Sperri Arviso 27505 arvisos@rcschools.net 
Smyrna High Tracy Sissom 23716 sissomt@rcschools.net
Smyrna Middle Lesa Randolph 24706 randolphl@rcschools.net
Smyrna Primary Amy Robinson 27710 robinsona@rcschools.net
Smyrna West Amy Robinson 27907 robinsona@rcschools.net 
Stewarts Creek Elementary Meg Relford 30308 relfordm@rcschools.net
Stewarts Creek High Terri Pigg 31518 piggte@rcschools.net
Stewarts Creek Middle Sarah Hanback 30108 hanbacks@rcschools.net
Stewartsboro Elementary Brittany Sargent 27315 smithbr@rcschools.net
Thurman Francis Penny Tidwell 28111 tidwellp@rcschools.net
Walter Hill Elementary Elizabeth Hazlett 28305 hazlette@rcschools.net
Whit-Buch Middle Melanie Newhall 31312 newhallm@rcschools.net
Wilson Elementary Sherrie Rahn 28907 rahns@rcschools.net 
Clinical Nurse Supervisor Shanna Groom 615-605-0842 grooms@rcschools.net 
Clinical Nurse Supervisor Marjorie Hogan 615-295-4424 hoganm@rcschools.net
Clinical Nurse Supervisor Connie Walker 615-295-4442 walkerco@rcschools.net
Director of Health Services Sarah Winters 22077 WintersSa@rcschools.net 
Education Coordinator Barb Herrell 22085 herrellb@rcschools.net
float nurse (1/2 time) Lynn Bridges   bridgesl@rcschools.net
float nurse (1/2 time) Kim Potts   pottsk@rcschools.net
float nurse (1/2 time)
Lisa Williams   williamsli@rcschools.net 
float nurse (1/2 time) Melissa Palicka   palickam@rcschools.net 
PRN Jami Hage   hagej@rcschools.net
PRN Jessica  Hill   hillj@rcschools.net
PRN Denise Colson   colsond@rcschools.net 
PRN Brittany Lee   leebr@rcschools.net 
PRN Jessica Wright  
PRN Chassidy Allen   allench@rcschools.net 
PRN Kitty McClellen  
Float LPN Jennifer Hayes   hayesj@rcschools.net
Float LPN Melissa Flagg   flaggm@rcschools.net